The Communique For 2024 Edo Language Worldwide

The Organizing Committee of Edo Language Day Worldwide is pleased to announce the schedule of the 2024 Edo Language Day (second edition) Celebration. The program aims to revive the Edo Indigenous language and dialects in the three senatorial districts of Edo State, including Esan, Afemai, Ora, Etsako, and other Indigenous dialects.

The Nigerian Canadian Multicultural Centre and NEBO TV Canada will host the 2024 event and it is scheduled to be held in-person on August 10th in Toronto and Edo State and virtually on August 13th worldwide. It will be hosted in six locations: Toronto (Canada) Benin City, Auchi, Okpella, Ekpoma, and Ososo (Edo State, Nigeria).

The Edo Language Day initiative is our response to the warning by the United Nations over the extinction of Indigenous languages around the world. It has been estimated that, at least, 50 percent of today’s spoken languages will be extinct or seriously endangered by 2100. Edo language is not exempted from the list of Indigenous languages that are gradually becoming extinct. The declaration of Edo Language Day Worldwide was made at the first worldwide Edo Language Seminar organized by NEBO TV on August 13th, 2022.

The Edo Elders Award is a part of the Edo Language Day program, with a maximum of six nominees annually. The program is geared towards recognizing and honoring Edo Elders, who have contributed immensely to the development of the Arts, Culture, and Civilization of the Great Benin Kingdom. Six Edo Elders and one posthumous recipient have been selected for the ceremony. These selected noble Edo Elders are expected to attend the in-person award ceremony in Toronto or Benin City on August 10th, 2024. The nominated Elders in Nigeria will also receive their plaques in Benin City on August 10th, 2024.

2024 Edo Elders Award

  • Chief Sam Igbe, Iyase of Benin
  • Prof. Adesuwa Akenzua-Emovon
  • Prof. Alex Igbineweka
  • Dr. Harris Osa. Enabulele
  • Mr. Osadebamwen Oviasogie
  • Mr. Soni Irabor

Post-Humous Award – Osayomore Joseph

  • Edo Cultural Heritage Award
  • Monica Omorodion
  • Nosayaba Aghedo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *